All Nicholas School Faculty

Core Faculty

Elizabeth A. Albright
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Environmental Science and Policy Methods
(919) 613-8153
elizabeth.albright@duke.edu
Paul A. Baker
Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences in the Nicholas School of the Environment
(919) 684-6450
pbaker@duke.edu
Xavier Basurto
Assistant Professor of Sustainability Science
(252) 504-7540
xavier.basurto@duke.edu
Lori Snyder Bennear
Associate Professor of Environmental Economics and Policy
(919) 613-8083
lori.bennear@duke.edu
Alan E. Boudreau
Professor in the Nicholas School of the Environment
(919) 684-5646
Nicolette Cagle
Lecturer
nicolette.cagle@duke.edu
Lisa Campbell
Associate Professor in Marine Affairs and Policy
(252) 504-7628
lisa.m.campbell@duke.edu
Nicolas Cassar
Associate Professor of Biogeochemistry in the Division of Earth & Ocean Sciences
(919) 681-8865
nicolas.cassar@duke.edu
William Chameides
Professor of the Environment
(919) 613-8004
bill.chameides@duke.edu
Charlotte Clark
Assistant Professor of the Practice in Sustainability Education
(919) 684-3159
cclark@duke.edu
James S. Clark
Nicholas Professor of Environmental Science
(919) 613-8036
jimclark@duke.edu
Richard T. Di Giulio
Professor of Environmental Toxicology
(919) 613-8024
richd@duke.edu
Jean- Christophe Domec
Visiting Professor
(919) 613-8000
jc.domec@duke.edu
Martin Doyle
Professor of River Systems Science and Policy
(919) 613-8026
martin.doyle@duke.edu
Gary S. Dwyer
Senior Research Scientist
(919) 681-8164
gary.dwyer@duke.edu
John P. Fay
Instructor, Geospatial Analysis Program
(919) 613-8718
john.fay@duke.edu
P. Lee Ferguson
Associate Professor of Environmental Chemistry and Engineering
(919) 660-5460
lee.ferguson@duke.edu
Richard B. Forward
Bass Fellow
(252) 504-7610
rforward@duke.edu
Deborah Gallagher
Associate Professor of the Practice of Resource and Environmental Policy
(919) 613-8138
deb.gallagher@duke.edu
Alexander Glass
Lecturer in The Division of Earth & Ocean Sciences
(919) 684-5847
alex.glass@duke.edu
Jay Golden
Associate Professor of the Practice of Sustainable Systems Analysis
(919) 613-3646
jay.golden@duke.edu
Peter K. Haff
Professor of Geology and Civil and Environmental Engineering
(919) 684-5902
haff@duke.edu
Patrick N. Halpin
Associate Professor of Marine Geospatial Ecology
(919) 613-8062
phalpin@duke.edu
Peter Harrell
Instructor and Research Associate, Geospatial Analysis Program
(919) 613-8127
pharrel@duke.edu
James Brendan Heffernan
Assistant Professor of Ecosystem Ecology and Ecohydrology
(919) 681-4193
james.heffernan@duke.edu
James Hench
Assistant Professor of Oceanography
(650) 759-6639
jim.hench@duke.edu
David E. Hinton
Nicholas Professor of Environmental Quality
(919) 613-8038
dhinton@duke.edu
Dana E. Hunt
Assistant Professor of Microbial Ecology
(252) 504-7542
dana.hunt@duke.edu
Timothy Lawrence Johnson
Associate Professor of the Practice in Energy and the Environment
(919) 681-9339
timothy.l.johnson@duke.edu
Zackary Johnson
Arthur P. Kaupe Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology in Marine Science
(252) 504-7543
zackary.johnson@duke.edu
David William Johnston
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Marine Conservation Ecology
(252) 504-7593
david.johnston@duke.edu
Prasad S. Kasibhatla
Professor of Environmental Chemistry
(919) 613-8075
psk9@duke.edu
Gabriel G. Katul
Theodore S. Coile Professor of Hydrology and Micrometeorology
(919) 613-8033
gaby@duke.edu
Emily M. Klein
Bass Fellow
(919) 684-5965
ek4@duke.edu
Randall Kramer
Professor of Environmental Economics
(919) 613-8072
Mukesh Kumar
Assistant Professor of Hydrology and Water Resources
(919) 681-7837
mukesh.kumar@duke.edu
Wenhong Li
Assistant Professor of Climate
(919) 684-5015
wenhong.li@duke.edu
M. Susan Lozier
Ronie-Richelle Garcia-Johnson Professor in the Nicholas School of the Environment
(919) 681-8199
s.lozier@duke.edu
Lynn A. Maguire
Professor of the Practice of Environmental Decision Analysis
(919) 613-8034
lmaguire@duke.edu
Marco Marani
Professor of Eco-hydrology
Brian McGlynn
Professor of Watershed Hydrology & Biogeosciences
(919) 684-1743
brian.mcglynn@duke.edu
Joel Meyer
Associate Professor of Environmental Toxicology
(919) 613-8109
joel.meyer@duke.edu
Megan Mullin
Associate Professor of Environmental Politics
(919) 684-1174
megan.mullin@duke.edu
Brian Murray
Research Professor of Environmental Economics
(919) 613-8725
brian.murray@duke.edu
A. Brad Murray
Professor in the Division of Earth & Ocean Sciences
(919) 681-5069
abmurray@duke.edu
Richard G. Newell
Gendell Professor of Energy and Environmental Economics
(919) 681-8663
richard.newell@duke.edu
Douglas Nowacek
Randolph K. Repass and Sally-Christine Rodgers University Associate Professor of Conservation Technology in the Nicholas School of the Environment and the Edmund T. Pratt, Jr. School of Engineering
(252) 504-7566
doug.nowacek@duke.edu
Ram Oren
Nicholas Professor of Earth System Science
(919) 613-8032
ramoren@duke.edu
Sari Palmroth
Associate Research Professor
(919) 613-8089
sari.palmroth@duke.edu
William Kuang Yao Pan
Assistant Professor of Global Environmental Health
(919) 684-4108
william.pan@duke.edu
Dalia Patino-Echeverri
Gendell Assistant Professor of Energy Systems and Public Policy
(919) 358-0858
dalia.patino@duke.edu
Subhrendu K. Pattanayak
Professor of Public Policy and Environmental Economics
(919) 613-9306
subhrendu.pattanayak@duke.edu
Stuart L. Pimm
Doris Duke Professor of Conservation Ecology
(919) 613-8141
stuartpimm@me.com
John Randolph Poulsen
Assistant Professor of Tropical Ecology
(919) 668-4060
john.poulsen@duke.edu
Lincoln F. Pratson
Truman and Nellie Semans/Alex Brown & Sons Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences
(919) 681-8077
lincoln.pratson@duke.edu
Andrew J. Read
Stephen A. Toth Professor of Marine Biology in the Nicholas School of the Environment
(252) 504-7590
aread@duke.edu
Chantal D. Reid
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Biology
(919) 660-7378
chantal@duke.edu
Curtis J. Richardson
Professor of Resource Ecology
(919) 613-8006
Daniel D. Richter
Professor of Soils and Forest Ecology
(919) 613-8031
drichter@duke.edu
Daniel Rittschof
Professor, Marine Science and Conservation
(252) 504-7634
ritt@duke.edu
Bill Ross
Visiting Professor of Environmental Sciences and Policy and Duke Cancer Institute
(919) 613-8130
wgr4@duke.edu
Jim Salzman
Samuel F. Mordecai Professor of Law
(919) 613-7185
salzman@law.duke.edu
Thomas Fred Schultz
Director, Marine Conservation Molecular Facility
(619) 823-1514
tom.schultz@duke.edu
Elizabeth Shapiro-Garza
Assistant Professor Of The Practice Of Environmental Policy and Management
(919) 681-7781
elizabeth.shapiro@duke.edu
Drew Shindell
Professor of Climate Sciences
(919) 681-8467
drew.shindell@duke.edu
Brian Reed Silliman
Rachel Carson Associate Professor of Marine Conservation Biology
(252) 504-7635
brian.silliman@duke.edu
Martin D. Smith
Professor of Environmental Economics in the Division of Environmental Sciences and Policy
(919) 613-8028
martin.smith@duke.edu
Heather M. Stapleton
Dan and Bunny Gabel Associate Professor of Environmental Ethics and Sustainable Environmental Management
(919) 613-8717
heather.stapleton@duke.edu
Jennifer J. Swenson
Associate Professor of the Practice of Geospatial Analysis
(919) 668-0606
jswenson@duke.edu
John W. Terborgh
James B. Duke Professor of Environmental Science
(919) 490-9081
manu@duke.edu
Alan Townsend
Dean of the Nicholas School
alan.townsend@duke.edu
Dean L. Urban
Professor of Environmental Sciences and Policy
(919) 684-6999
deanu@duke.edu
Cindy Van Dover
Harvey W. Smith Professor of Biological Oceanography in the Nicholas School of the Environment
(252) 504-7655
c.vandover@duke.edu
Avner Vengosh
Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences
(919) 681-8050
vengosh@duke.edu
Rebecca L. Vidra
Lecturer
(919) 613-8199
rebecca.vidra@duke.edu
Jeffrey Vincent
Clarence F. Korstian Professor of Forest Economics and Management
(919) 613-8025
jeff.vincent@duke.edu
Jesko Von Windheim
Professor of the Practice of Environmental Innovation and Entrepreneurship
(919) 613-8136
jesko.vonwindheim@duke.edu
Erika Weinthal
Lee Hill Snowdon Professor of Environmental Policy
(919) 613-8080
erika.weinthal@duke.edu
Jennifer Jo Wernegreen
Associate Professor of Environmental and Evolutionary Genomics
(919) 681-0331
j.wernegreen@duke.edu
Junfeng Zhang
Professor of Global and Environmental Health
(919) 681-7782
junfeng.zhang@duke.edu

Secondary Faculty

John D. Albertson
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
School of Engineering
(919) 660-5468
john.albertson@duke.edu
Ana Barros
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
School of Engineering
(919) 660-5539
barros@duke.edu
Emily Bernhardt
Associate Professor of Biogeochemistry
Biology Department
(919) 660-7318
emily.bernhardt@duke.edu
Andre Boustany
Research Scientist and Senior Nippon Foundation-Nereus Fellow
(919) 613-8021
andre.boustany@duke.edu
John Cornet
Visiting Professor
(336) 337-2974
john.cornet@duke.edu
Mona Devries
Visiting Professor
(336) 278-6329
mona.devries@duke.edu
Mark N. Feinglos
Professor of Medicine
(919) 684-4005
mark.feinglos@duke.edu
Neal Flanagan
Visiting Assistant Professor
(919) 613-8087
neal.flanagan@duke.edu
Victor Friedmann
Visiting Instructor in the Environmental Sciences and Policy Division
victor.friedman@duke.edu
Ei Fujioka
Research Scientist
(919) 613-8021
efujioka@duke.edu
Alan Gelfand
James B. Duke Professor of Statistics and Decision Sciences
ISDS
(919) 668-5229
alan@stat.duke.edu
Matthew Godfrey
Visiting Professor
(252) 728-1528
matthew.godfrey@duke.edu
Heileen Hsu-Kim
Mary Milus Yoh and Harold L. Yoh, Jr. Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
School of Engineering
(919) 660-5109
hsukim@duke.edu
K. David Hyrenbach
Adjunct Assistant Professor
(808) 236-3563
khyrenba@duke.edu
Marc A. Jeuland
Assistant Professor
School of Public Policy
(919) 360-9154
marc.jeuland@duke.edu
Richard F. Kay
Professor of Biological Anthropology and Anatomy
Evolutionary Anthropology
(919) 684-2143
richard.kay@duke.edu
Michael Kingston
Visiting Professor
(336) 278-6182
michael.kingston@duke.edu
Michael Long
Visiting Scientist
mlong@seas.harvard.edu
Ryke Longest
Clinical Professor of Law
School of Law
(919) 613-7207
longest@law.duke.edu
Suzanne McMaster
Visiting Instructor
(919) 684-8111
suzanne.mcmaster@duke.edu
Daniel Mercer
Adjunct Assistant Professor
(919) 549-4095
emercer@duke.edu
Ellen Mihaich
Visiting Instructor
(919) 613-8000
ellen.mihaich@duke.edu
Michelle Nowlin
Senior Lecturing Fellow
School of Law
(919) 613-8502
nowlin@law.duke.edu
Charles Peterson
Visiting Professor
(252) 504-7610
charles.peterson@duke.edu
Alexander Pfaff
Professor
School of Public Policy
(919) 613-9240
alex.pfaff@duke.edu
Amilcare Porporato
Addy Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
School of Engineering
Kathleen Reinsel
Visiting Professor
kathleen.reinsel@duke.edu
David Salvesen
Visiting Instructor
(919) 613-8000
david.salvesen@duke.edu
Sonia Silvestri
Visiting Assistant Professor
(919) 684-2731
sonia.silvestri@duke.edu
S. Kersey Sturdivant
McCurdy Visiting Scholar
(252) 504-7678
kersey.sturdivant@duke.edu
Christopher D. Timmins
Professor of Economics
Economics Department
(919) 660-1809
christopher.timmins@duke.edu
Stephanie Wear
Visiting Scientist
swear@tnc.org
James Welch
Visiting Professor
jwelch@wittenberg.edu
Jonathan Wiener
Perkins Professor of Law, Professor of Environmental Policy, and Professor of Public Policy
School of Law
(919) 613-7054
wiener@law.duke.edu
Mark R. Wiesner
James L. Meriam Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
School of Engineering
(919) 660-5292
wiesner@duke.edu
Norman Wirzba
Professor of Theology, Ecology, and Rural Life
School of Divinity
(919) 660-3496
norman.wirzba@duke.edu
Robert Wolpert
Professor of Statistical Science
ISDS
(919) 684-3275
wolpert@stat.duke.edu
Justin Wright
Assistant Professor
Biology Department
(919) 613-8096
justin.wright@duke.edu
Chi-Jen Yang
Research Scientist, Center on Global Change
(909) 681-7191
cj.y@duke.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Eva Leanor (Nora) Bynum
Visiting Instructor
(919) 684-4859
nora.bynum@duke.edu
Jens A. Carlsson
Adjunct Assistant Professor
University of College Cork
jens.carlsson@duke.edu
Humberto Diaz
Visiting Professor
humberto.diaz@duke.edu
David J. Erickson III
Adjunct Professor of Computational Biogeochemistry
Oak Ridge National Laboratories
865-574-3136
ericksondj@ornl.gov
Ari S. Friedlaender
Research Scientist
Oregon State University
(919) 672-0103
asf7@duke.edu
Pamela George
Adjunct Professor
NCSU
pamela.george@duke.edu
Elliott L. Hazen
Research Adjunct Professor
University of Hawaii
(831) 658-3202
elliott.hazen@duke.edu
Gary H. Isaksen
Adjunct Professor
Exxon Mobile
(281) 654-7562
gary.isaksen@duke.edu
Krithi K. Karanth
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Center for Wildlife Studies
krithi.karanth@gmail.com
Elizabeth C. Losos
Adjunct Professor and President and CEO, Organization for Tropical Studies
Organization for Tropical Studies
elizabeth.losos@duke.edu
Peter E. Malin
Adjunct Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences
University of Auckland
(64) 9 373-7599
p.malin@auckland.ac.nz
Marie Lynn Miranda
Adjunct Professor in the Environmental Sciences and Policy Division
University of Michigan
(919) 613-8000
mmiranda@duke.edu
James D. Oliver
Adjunct Professor
UNC Charlotte
(704) 687-8516
jdoliver@uncc.edu
Eric P. Palkovacs
Adjunct Assistant Professor
UC Santa Cruz
(919) 613-8030
epalkova@ucsc.edu
Linwood Pendleton
Adjunct Professor and Director, Ocean and Coastal Policy Program, Nicholas Institute
French Center for the Law and Economy of the Sea
(919) 613-8709
linwood.pendleton@duke.edu
Stephen Roady
Instructor,Temporary
Earth Justice
(919) 613-8000
steve.roady@duke.edu
Kathryn A. Saterson
Adjunct Associate Professor
US EPA
saterson@duke.edu
Melba (Sally) Schauman
Instructor
University of Washington
(919) 956-2733
sebring7@duke.edu
Kyle S. Van Houtan
Adjunct Associate Professor
NOAA Hawaii
kyle.vanhoutan@duke.edu
John Vandenberg
Adjunct Professor in the Division of Environmental Sciences and Policy
US EPA
(919) 489-8018
john.vandenberg@duke.edu
Bryan P. Wallace
Adjunct Associate Professor and Chief Scientist, The Oceanic Society
Ocean Society
(202) 643-8782
bryan.wallace@duke.edu
Danielle Way
Research Associate of Biology and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Environmental Sciences and Policy
University of Western Ontario
(519) 661-211 ext. 88734
dw68@duke.edu
Gary Christopher Wedding
Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Division of Environmental Sciences and Policy
IronOak Innovations
(919) 274-7988
chris.wedding@duke.edu
Randall Wells
Adjunct Professor
Mote Marine Lab
(941) 388-2705
rwells@mote.org

Emeritus Faculty

Richard T. Barber
Harvey W. Smith Professor Emeritus of Biological Oceanography in the Division of Earth and Ocean Sciences
(252) 504-7578
rbarber@duke.edu
Celia J. Bonaventura
Professor Emeritus
(252) 504-7591
bona@duke.edu
Joseph Bonaventura
Professor Emeritus of Marine Science and Conservation
(252) 504-7613
joeb@duke.edu
Norman L. Christensen
Professor Emeritus in the Division of Environmental Sciences & Policy
(919) 613-8052
normc@duke.edu
Bruce Corliss
Professor Emeritus
(919) 684-2951
bruce.corliss@duke.edu
Robert G. Healy
Professor Emeritus of Environmental Sciences and Policy
(919) 613-8025
healy@duke.edu
Duncan Heron
Professor Emeritus of Geology
(919) 684-5321
duncan.heron@duke.edu
William Kirby-Smith
Professor of the Practice Emeritus of Marine Ecology
(252) 504-7577
wwks@duke.edu
Daniel A. Livingstone
James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Biology
(919) 684-3264
livingst@duke.edu
Michael K. Orbach
Professor of the Practice Emeritus of Marine Policy
(252) 504-7606
mko@duke.edu
Ronald D. Perkins
Professor Emeritus of Earth Sciences
(919) 684-3376
rperkins@duke.edu
Orrin H. Pilkey
James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Geology
(919) 684-4238
opilkey@duke.edu
Joseph S. Ramus
Professor Emeritus
(252) 504-7617
jramus@duke.edu
Kenneth H. Reckhow
Professor Emeritus of Water Resources
(919) 613-8026
reckhow@duke.edu
James F. Reynolds
Professor of Environmental Sciences and Biology
(919) 660-7404
james.f.reynolds@duke.edu
William H. Schlesinger
James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Biogeochemistry and Former Dean of the Nicholas School
(845) 677-5343
schlesin@duke.edu
William J. Stambaugh
Professor Emeritus
(919) 613-8038
william.stambaugh@duke.edu