Annual Faculty and Staff Appreciation Lunch and Years of Service Awards Ceremony Slated for Sept. 25

September 20, 2015

Tim Lucas, 919-613-8084,

DURHAM N.C. – Dean Alan Townsend will recognize 31 faculty and staff members for their years of service to Duke University and the Nicholas School of the Environment in two ceremonies to be held this academic year.

Those from the Nicholas School’s Durham campus will be recognized at the annual Faculty and Staff Appreciation and Career Service Milestone Recognition Awards lunch from 12:30 to 2 p.m., Friday, Sept. 25, on the Environment Hall patio.

A separate awards dinner and oyster roast will be held for faculty and staff at the Duke University Marine Lab in Beaufort in January or February.

“These ceremonies are a chance to gather as a community and acknowledge the contributions of our remarkable colleagues,” said Townsend. “I hope to see everyone there.”

All faculty and staff planning to attend the Sept. 25 lunch on the Environment Hall patio should RSVP here.

Faculty and staff members to be recognized for achieving Years of Services Milestones are:

  • 40 years of service

    • Sylvester Murray, head cook, Duke University Marine Lab (DUML)
  • 30 years of service
    • Anne Marie Davis, administrative services manager
  • 25 years of service
    • Karen Kirchof, assistant dean, Career & Professional Development Center
  • 20 years of service
    • Charlotte Clark, assistant professor of the practice in sustainability education, Environmental Sciences and Policy (ESP) Division
    • Pat Halpin, associate professor of marine geospatial ecology, Marine Science and Conservation (MSC) Division
    • Linda Nichols, grants and contracts administrator, DUML
    • Jeff Priddy, manager and senior systems analyst, DUML Information Technology
    • Andy Read, Stephen A. Toth Professor of Marine Biology, MSC
  • 15 years of service
    • Scottee Cantrell, associate dean of marketing, communications and strategic engagement
    • David Hinton, Nicholas Professor of Environmental Quality, ESP
    • Barbra Howard, DUML Business Office
  • 10 years of service
    • Deann Corum, senior systems analyst, Information Technology (IT)
    • John Fay, instructor for geospatial analysis program, ESP
    • Anita Kemp, staff assistant, DUML
    • Joel Meyer, associate professor of environmental toxicology, ESP
    • Leslie Pardue, program coordinator, Professional Studies
    • John Robinson, assistant dean for information services, IT and facilities
    • Ian Ryde, research associate, Meyer lab
    • Heather Stapleton, Dan and Bunny Gabel Associate Professor of Environmental Ethics & Sustainable Environmental Management, ESP
    • Erika Weinthal, Lee Hill Snowdon Professor of Environmental Policy, ESP
    • Avner Vengosh, professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences, EOS
  • 5 years of service
    • Cassidy Blankenship, food and nutrition associate, DUML
    • Craig Butt, research associate, Stapleton lab
    • Nicolas Cassar, associate professor of Biogeochemistry, EOS
    • Jay Golden, associate professor of the Practice of Sustainable Systems Analysis, EOS
    • Mukesh Kumar, assistant professor of hydrology and water resources, ESP
    • Shirley Miller, grants and contracts administrator, DUML
    • Bill Pan, assistant professor of global environmental health, ESP
    • Bill Ross, visiting professor of environmental sciences and policy, ESP
    • Rhonda Sarmento, senior career specialist, Career & Professional Development Center
    • Elizabeth Shapiro-Garza, assistant professor of the practice of environmental policy and management, ESP
    • Hongjun Wang, research scientist, Duke University Wetland Center
    • Jennifer Wernegreen, associate professor of environmental and evolutionary genomics, ESP
    • John Wilson, manager of marine operations, DUML