Megan Mullin and Emily Pechar Receive Dean’s Awards for Mentoring and Teaching

January 15, 2019
E and M2.png

PhD student Emily Pechar and associate professor of environmental politics Megan Mullin

DURHAM, N.C. – Megan Mullin, associate professor of environmental politics at Duke University’s Nicholas School of the Environment, and PhD student Emily Pechar have received 2019 Dean's Awards.

Mullin was honored with the 2019 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring, which recognizes Duke faculty members and PhD students with an exemplary record of mentoring practices. Mullin is a scholar of American political institutions and behavior who is widely cited for her work on the politics of climate change and other environmental issues.

Pechar, a doctoral candidate in the University Program in Environmental Policy program whose research focuses on climate change, received the 2019 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. The honor recognizes graduate students who have engaged in professional development activities while making significant contributions to teaching.

Dean’s Awards are university-wide honors presented annually by Duke’s Graduate School.

Mullin, Pechar and their fellow 2019 honorees will be recognized at a ceremony from 4:30-6:30 p.m. on March 27 at Sarah P. Duke Gardens.

Faculty members Lisa Campbell (2006), Susan Lozier (2007) and Martin Doyle (2018) are past recipients of the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring. PhD alumnae Wendy Dow Piniak (2012) and Heather Heenehan (2016) were previously recognized for their teaching.