DURHAM, N.C. – Two faculty members at Duke University’s Nicholas School of the Environment, have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Susan Lozier, Ronie-Richelle Garcia-Johnson Professor of Ocean Sciences, and Brian Silliman, Rachel Carson Associate Professor of Marine Conservation Biology, are among 347 scientists elected as AAAS Fellows this year.

Members of AAAS are elevated to the rank of Fellows in recognition of research, outreach and teaching that are deemed by their peers to be scientifically or socially distinguished.

A physical oceanographer, Lozier is widely cited for her research on large-scale ocean circulation and its links to global climate change. She is president of The Oceanography Society and is lead investigator for the $32 million OSNAP (Overturning in the Subpolar North Atlantic Program) international research project, in which scientists have deployed moored instruments and sub-surface floats across the North Atlantic to measure the ocean’s overturning circulation and shed light on the factors that cause it to vary.
Lozier was the recipient of a National Science Foundation (NSF) Early Career Award in 1996, was awarded a Bass Chair for Excellence in Research and Teaching in 2000, received a Duke University Award for Excellence in Mentoring in 2007, was named an American Meteorological Society Fellow in 2008 and a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union in 2014.

Silliman is a marine ecologist whose meticulously executed field studies have reshaped decades-old scientific theories about how salt marshes and other coastal ecosystems work; the roles animal communities play in them; human impacts on them; and best practices for ecosystem restoration and the management of invasive species.
In recognition of his research achievements, he was named a David H. Smith Conservation Fellow with The Nature Conservancy in 2004 and a Visiting Professor with the Royal Netherlands Society of Arts and Sciences in 2011.

He has also received the 2006 Young Investigator Award from the American Society of Naturalists, a 2007 Young Investigator Grant Award from the Andrew Mellon Foundation, and an NSF Career Grant Award in 2011.

Lozier, Silliman and the other newly named AAAS Fellows will be recognized at a special ceremony during the association’s 2016 annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in February.