Students from any college/university are welcome to attend the Duke University Marine Laboratory. The purpose of the MSEC institutional partnership is to provide a streamlined enrollment process.

The Marine Sciences Education Consortium (MSEC) was developed to provide a formal curriculum in the marine sciences, including supervised research, to member institutions. Such institutions are liberal arts colleges or universities attended by students who are preparing for careers in the marine sciences or who have a strong liberal arts interest in the oceans, but for whom no specialized programs in marine sciences are available.

Undergraduate students have access to the Duke Marine Laboratory's fall semester, spring semester, and two six-week summer terms. Members join upon invitation and mutual agreement. Inquiries from interested institutions are welcome and requests to join MSEC will be considered.


If you have any questions or are interested in becoming a partner, please reach out to Amanda Cole at

Our Partners

Current member institutions include:

  • Albright College​
  • Allegheny College
  • Assumption University
  • Augustana College
  • Bucknell University
  • Cedar Crest
  • Davidson College
  • Denison University
  • Elon University
  • Five Colleges Coastal and Marine Sciences Program (Amherst College, Hampshire College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College and the University of Massachusetts)
  • Furman University
  • Gettysburg College
  • Hampden-Sydney College
  • Hood College
  • Ithaca College
  • Kenyon College
  • Macalester College
  • Marquette University
  • Miami University
  • New College of Florida
  • North Carolina State University
  • Notre Dame
  • Oberlin College
  • Presbyterian College
  • Principia College
  • Rollins College
  • University of Richmond
  • Stetson University
  • Trinity College
  • Washington and Lee University
  • Wittenberg University
  • College of Wooster