Spring 2020

To view spring course offerings, visit Spring Undergraduate Courses and Spring Graduate Courses.

Semester: January 8 – May 1, 2020

  • Block A: January 9 – February 7, 2020
  • Block B: February 10 – March 6, 2020
  • Spring Break: March 7 – March 15, 2020
  • Block C: March 16 – April 8, 2020
  • Block D: April 9 – May 1, 2020

Travel Course Schedule

Detailed Calendar - Spring 2020

Spring 2020

January 7 Tuesday. Move-in begins after lunch
January 8 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Spring semester begins: Drop/Add continues
January 9 Thursday. Block A begins
January 13 Drop/Add for Block A ends at 5:00 pm
January 20 Monday. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday: No classes
January 22 Wednesday. Drop/Add ends
February 7 Friday. Block A ends
February 10 Monday. Block B begins
February 12 Drop/Add for Block B ends at 5:00 pm
February 17 Monday. Registration begins for Summer 2020 (Terms I and II)
March 6 Friday. 7 p.m. Spring break begins: Block B ends
March 16 Monday. 8 a.m. Classes resume: Block C begins
March 18 Drop/Add ends for Block C at 5:00 pm
March 25 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2020 classes. (Undergraduates only)
April 1 Wednesday. Registration begins for Fall 2020; Summer 2020 registration continues
April 8 Wednesday. Block C ends
April 9 Thursday. Block D begins
April 10 Friday. Registration ends for Fall 2020; Summer 2020 registration continues
April 11 Saturday. Drop/Add begins for Fall 2020
April 13 Drop/Add ends for Block D at 5:00 pm
May 1 Friday. Block D ends; Classes end
May 2 Saturday. Students vacate dorms by 8:30 a.m.
May 8–10 Friday-Sunday. Graduation Weekend, Durham

 

Summer 2020

To view summer course offerings, see Summer 1 courses and Summer 2 courses.

Summer Term I: May 11 – June 12, 2020

Summer Term II: July 6 – August 7, 2020

Detailed Calendar - Summer 2020

SUMMER 2020

Summer Term I

 
May 10 Sunday. Move-in begins after lunch 
May 11 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Summer Term I begins: Drop/Add continues
May 13 Wednesday. Drop/Add ends 
May 25 Monday. Memorial Day holiday. No classes 
June 12 Friday. Classes end 
June 13 Saturday. Students vacate dorms by 8:30 a.m. 

Summer Term II

 
July 5 Sunday. Move-in begins after lunch 
July 6 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Summer Term II begins: Drop/Add continues 
July 8 Wednesday. Drop/Add ends 
August 7 Friday. Classes end 
August 8 Saturday. Students vacate dorms by 8:30 a.m.

 

Fall 2020

To view fall course offerings, see Fall Undergraduate Courses or Fall Graduate Courses.

Semester: August 24 – December 3, 2020

Travel Course Schedule

Detailed Calendar - Fall 2020

Fall 2020

August 23 Sunday. Move-in begins after lunch
August 24 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Fall semester begins: Drop/Add continues
September 4 Friday. Drop/Add ends
September 7 Monday. Labor Day. Classes in session
October 2

Friday. 7 p.m. Fall break begins

October 12 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
October 28 Wednesday. Registration begins for Spring 2021
November 6 Friday. Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2020 classes (Undergrads)
November 9 Monday. Registration ends for Spring 2021
November 10 Tuesday. Drop/Add begins for Spring 2021
November 24 Tuesday. 10:30 p.m. Thanksgiving recess begins
November 30 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume

December 3

Thursday. Classes end

December 7

Monday. Exams begin

December 11

Friday. Exams end

December 12

Saturday. Students vacate dorms by 8:30 a.m.