Earth & Ocean Sciences (EOS) Division


Faculty research in the EOS Division is focused on processes that affect the behavior of the Earth’s surface, its oceans, climate and interior, including such topics as energy sources and production and their effect on global climate; wetland restoration; water resources conservation and allocation; and water quality issues, fracking and coal ash; global biogeochemical cycling; and large-scale ocean circulation.



EOS faculty and students engage in programs focusing on global change, coastal and marine environments, and energy and the environment.




Since the Nicholas School was founded in 1991 - bringing together the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, the Department of Geology and the Duke Marine Lab - the faculty have been organized into three Divisions. The Division of Earth and Ocean Sciences (EOS) grew out of the Duke Geology Department, which was formed in 1936 and - unlike the other two divisions – had its roots in a more traditional departmental structure with its own programs. EOS Faculty are primarily focused on understanding of the processes that affect the behavior of the Earth’s surface, its oceans, climate and interior. They are housed in Grainger Hall on Circuit Drive and the A-Wing of the adjacent Levine Science Research Center (LSRC). Some faculty still have offices and labs in the Old Chemistry building on Main campus until renovations are completed on the LSRC.