The Alumni Council is comprised of Nicholas School of the Environment Alums who are elected by the school to serve on a Board for a period of three years each. The Council is responsible for fostering better relationships between alumni, alumni and the school, and between alumni and the student body. Their mandate is ultimately to serve the school on a range of issues as set forth by the Dean of the Nicholas School. The Council convenes once a semester on Duke’s campus to engage with students and to discuss initiatives and also participates in frequent communications with school administration throughout the year.

Letter from the President

Nick DiLuzio

Nick DiLuzio, MEM/MF '10

Dear Nicholas School Alumni,

When I had the opportunity to speak at the NSOE graduation ceremony several years ago, I talked about how the school is only as good as the sum of its community. The school has some of the best faculty and staff members, many of which are recognized as global experts in their fields. The students constantly amaze me with their dreams and vision for a better world. And last, but certainly not least, are the alumni. The Nicholas School has amazing alumni spread across the world, working tirelessly to protect the environment while also achieving personal and professional success. 

Although we only spent a few years at the Nicholas School, our role as alumni lasts a lifetime. We are experts in our fields working across the world with purpose. Together, we can ensure that the Nicholas School continues to provide world-class environmental education to tomorrow’s leaders while also helping fellow alumni connect and make a collective impact.

The Go · Grow · Give program provides the framework to do just this. As an alum, I would encourage you to Go to local Duke events in your community to represent the Nicholas School, Grow your wealth of knowledge and experience with students and fellow alumni, as well as help to identify the future environmental leaders of the world and encourage them to attend the Nicholas School. I also ask you to consider Giving a donation of any size in support of the school’s important work. Robust participation of all Nicholas alumni is vital!

As president of the Alumni Council, my hope is for the Nicholas alumni body to be a strong and enriching community where we, as alums, work to enable other alums and our students to be the best they can be. We on the Alumni Council serve as the voice for you, our alumni body, and work to ensure our graduates stay engaged with both the Nicholas School and the larger Duke community. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me or any other Council member if there is ever anything we can do for you.

As alumni of the Nicholas School, we all have the skills and knowledge to tackle the world's environmental challenges. While this is certainly no small task, I know that we, as alumni, together with the students and faculty of the Nicholas School, are up for the challenge. 


Nick DiLuzio, MEM/MF’10
President – Nicholas School Alumni Council

Benefits & Expectations

Potential Benefits

  • Connect with the school from a strategic position
  • Influence the direction of how the school engages with alumni
  • Learn more about the school and broaden your perspectives on current issues/ topics
  • Improve alumni relations for the school and university by sharing your individual knowledge and skills
  • Receive exposure to other disciplines and professions which you may not encounter in your “day job”
  • Strengthen your reputation and build your personal brand
  • Enrich your career and/or professional development
  • Have access to new networks that may not have been previously available or considered
  • Get advanced invitations to university and school-related events and programs
  • Have fun!

Time Commitments

  • Attend on-campus business meetings twice a year — one in the fall and one in the spring. Meetings typically begin with dinner on Thursday evening, followed by our business meeting on Friday morning through late afternoon. Due to special on-campus events, meetings can be scheduled during the week or at a different time than usual, if deemed appropriate.
  • Attend virtual business meetings held approximately three to four times annually
  • Actively engage as alumni leaders 3-5 hours monthly


  • “Lead by example” in supporting the school as volunteers and donors
  • Serve as an ambassador by pro-actively staying apprised of activities, plans, and needs of the school; share pertinent information with your Nicholas School networks.
  • Participate effectively in a collaborative group process, provide feedback in a respectful manner, and be open to a variety of recommendations
  • Respond to requests via email and phone for feedback or assistance


Interested in joining the Alumni Council? Contact Director of Alumni Engagement and Annual Giving, Christy Thompson.